main menu

Thank you

SPARC Europe is indebted to those who made it possible to bring together Europe’s Open Access Champions.

We would like to thank some of SPARC Europe members and their engaged colleagues, as well as the champion university presidents, managers, administrators and scholars from nine countries so far. Their contributions have been invaluable.

Participating academic libraries and consortia (in alphabetical order)

Academic libraries in Europe have been driving the implementation of Open Access together with the research community. They have been partnering with their institution’s presidents, managers, scholars and administrators to help unlock research more rapidly.

The following persons deserve special thanks for their commitment to this project by sharing their experiences and champion’s stories with the broader Open Access community:

Champions from European academic institutions (in alphabetical order)

Europe’s Open Access Champions contains the stories/accounts and views of Open Access leaders from nine countries with scholars from a range of disciplines and at various stages of their careers. They are dedicating their time to opening access to scholarly research output to differing extents, be this personally, in their institutions, within their communities, countries or Europe. Their stories show similar strong motivations as well as more distinct convictions that result in inspiring reading.

We would like to thank the university presidents, managers, administrators and scholars who spent their time sharing their views, visions and ideas on how to bring more Open Access to Europe’s research with the international Open Access community via this project.
We would particularly like to thank:

Alain Beretz, University of Strasbourg, France

Laurent Carraro, Arts et Métiers ParisTech, France

Professor Ing Aleš Čepek, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic

Professor Stephen Curry, Imperial College London, UK

Antonin Delpeuch, École Normale Supérieure, France

Professor Pearl Dykstra, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Dr Stephen Eglen, University of Cambridge, UK

Laurent Gatto, University of Cambridge, UK

Professor Philippe Grandjean, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Ivana Hebrang Grgić, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Professor Jørn Harald Hurum, University of Oslo, Norway

Professor Dr Rolf-Ulrich Kunze, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Dr Esther van Lieshout, Erasmus Medical Centre, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Jiří Marek, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic

Jenny Molloy, University of Cambridge, UK

Professor Dr Kurt Möser, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Professor Rune Nilsen, University of Bergen, Norway

Pedrag Pale, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Curt Rice, Oslo and Akershus University College, Norway

Professor Frode Eika Sandnes, Oslo and Akershus University College, Norway

Professor Manuel Ramírez Sánchez, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain

Professor Diana Šimić, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Astrid Söderbergh Widding, Stockholm University, Sweden

Our sincere thanks!


If you have a champion that is not yet included and they are doing inspiring and important work, please let us know!

Comments are closed.